Javier Valerio

Javier Valerio

Dr. Javier Valerio is widely recognized as one of the pioneers and leading classical saxophonist in Latin America. He is currently President of the ALASAX (Latin American Saxophone Alliance).


After studying with the world known saxophonist, Eugene Rousseau, at Indiana University School of Music, Valerio returned to his home country, Costa Rica, and established the Saxophone Studio teaching as a Distinguished Professor at The University of Costa Rica. He is founder and Director of the Sax Fest Costa Rica International, the Costa Rica International Saxophone Competition and the renowned saxophone and percussion quintet, Sonsax. He is also an exhaustive advocate of the Latin American classical saxophone repertoire. Valerio obtained his Master degree in Jazz Studies at Florida International University, Miami, Florida. He was also the saxophone professor of the Classical Saxophone Studio at FIU, the New World School of the Arts in Miami, and a member of the Florida Saxophone Quartet. Dr. Valerio obtained DMA degree from the University of Kansas, as part of the KU-UCR partnership initiated in 1958.

Valerio has being invited to play as soloist with many Symphony Orchestras and Concert Bands around the world. He has also performed in numerous occasions on the Montreal International Jazz Festival, World Saxophone Congresses and Latin American Saxophone Alliance Congresses.

He was a member of the world known Adolphe Saxophone International Competition Jury in 2014 and has also been invited as a jury member in many other saxophone international competitions.

Valerio has also been very active in the music popular scene performing with jazz bands, combos and Latin ensembles through the years.

Valerio has travelled offering recitals, clinics, master classes and concerts in countries such as Russia, Slovenia, Croatia, Japan, Hong Kong, Singapore, Canada, United States, México, Colombia, Chile, Uruguay, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Ecuador, Peru, Paraguay, France, Belgium, Switzerland, Germany, Scotland, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Central America and Panama.