Home - Musicians  / 

 Ebonit Saxophone Quartet

Ebonit Saxophone Quartet

www.ebonitquartet.com www.youtube.com/user/EbonitSaxQuartet www.facebook.com/EbonitSaxophoneQuartet

The Ebonit Saxophone Quartet was founded in 2011 and it consists of four young ambitious musicians from Poland, the Netherlands, and Germany. The members met in the saxophone class of Arno Bornkamp at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam. Right now there are as the first non-string quartet part of the NSKA (Dutch String Quartet Academy) and receive lessons from Marc Danel, Sven Arne Tepl, Luc-Marie Aguera, Stefan Metz and others. Next to a specialization into string quartet repertoire, the Ebonit quartet is also working regularly together with composers and commissioning pieces.

The Ebonit Saxophone Quartet received the first prize in the “Ottomani” competition in May 2012 in Den Bosch/the Netherlands and was a finalist in the “International Chamber Music Competition” in Almere/the Netherlands.

The quartet has performed in the Concertgebouw/Amsterdam, in Muziekgebouw aan’t IJ, Felix Meritis, de Toonzaal/Den Bosch, and many others. In addition, the quartet was performing at several internationally recognized festivals such as the “Grachtenfestival” in Amsterdam, the “Bachfestival” in Dordrecht/the Netherlands, the “Bach-Tage” in Würzburg/Germany, the “World Saxophone Congress” in St.Andrews/Scotland and the “International Chambermusicfestival Schiermonnikoog/the Netherlands.

The quartet worked together with Walter van Hauwe a specialist of baroque music. Also, the four saxophonists receive regularly lessons in chamber music from Arno Bornkamp, member of the famous Aurelia Saxofoon Kwartet. Furthermore, the quartet has participated in master classes with the famous “clair-obscur” saxophone quartet of Berlin and the French “Habanera” saxophone quartet in Poitiers as well as with the Artemis Quartett, Gerhard Schulz from the Alban Berg Quartett and Heime Müller in Weikersheim, Germany.

Simone Müller (soprano): Serie III, silver-neck
Dineke Nauta (alto): Serie II, gold plated neck
Johannes Pfeuffer (tenor): Serie II
Paulina Kulesza (baritone): Selmer Serie III